Heidelberg Catechism

This is a small excerpt from the Heidelberg Catechism, which is an old confessional document used by many Reformed churches around the world. We use this from time to time at both the church where I work and the church I attend semi-regularly on Sunday nights, and it has peaked my interest before. But tonight was different. I literally (and Ruthie can attest to this) started tearing up after we finished reading this section aloud as a congregation. I don’t do things like that. I consider myself semi-emotional, but I am not very often affected in the way that this passage affected me this evening. I’m still processing it and how rich, beautiful, and truthful it is. Enjoy. (Caps/bolds/italics added only for effect…)

“I am made right with God only by true faith in Jesus Christ. Even though my conscience accuses me of having grievously sinned against ALL God’s commandments and of never having kept any of them, and even though I am still inclined toward evil, nevertheless, without my deserving it at all, out of sheer grace, God grants and credits to me the perfect satisfaction, righteousness, and holiness of Christ, as if I had never sinned nor been a sinner, as if I had been as perfectly obedient  as Christ was obedient for me.”

WOW is all I know to say.

~ by wchandlerparker on March 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
